Provincial Partner

What we do

Annual lecture
Butterfly atlas
Moth Atlas
Moth Checklist
Contribute Records
Other Publications
Field trips
Insect counts
Student symposium
Research grant

About the TEA

Rearing Permit
Membership / Donate

About insects

Insects of Ontario
Endangered sp. / Laws
Butterfly Gardening

Contact us

For Ontario Nature

Herp Atlas


Glenn Richardson Research Award - $800

This award is in memory of former TEA president Glenn Richardson, who passed away in 2018. Glenn's family and TEA members are providing the funding.

Anyone can apply, whether or not they are presenting at the Student Symposium.

Eligibility: To be awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student at an Ontario university studying insects or arachnids.


  • The award is intended to cover research expenses, and the application of the award should indicate how the funds are expected to be used.
  • It is recommended that the recipient present their work at the TEA student symposium in March. If this is not possible, the student will submit a short paper of their research to be published in the Ontario Insects newsletter within a year of receiving the award.
  • Previous winners are eligible for the award but if two applications are very close in value, preference will be given to the student who has not won before.
  • The award is taxable, and a tax slip will be issued. However, research expenses are deductible against the grant, so there will be no net taxable amount if the entire grant is spent on research expenses (keep your receipts).

The next deadline for application will be in March 2024. The results will be announced within a month. Click here to download the application (Word format).

From 2000 to 2018, the TEA offered this award as the W. John D. Eberlie Research Grant.

Past Recipients:

2023 - 2 awards: Nicole Regimbal, University of Toronto & Lydia Wong, University of Ottawa
2022 - Zach Balzer, Western University
2021 - 2 awards: Sara Khan, Carleton University & Kelly Murray-Stoker, University of Toronto (video)
2020 - Jesse Huisken, York University
2019 - Aleksandra Dolezal, University of Guelph
2018 - Kyra Kathleen Lightburn, University of Guelph
2017 - Catherine Scott, University of Toronto
2016 - Beverly McClenaghan, Trent University
2015 - M. Lukas Seehausen, University of Toronto
2014 - Susan Frye, University of Toronto
2013 - Bryan Giordano, Brock University
2012 - Tyler Flockhart, University of Guelph
2011 - No award
2010 - Andrew Young (University of Guelph) and Michelle Locke (Carleton University)
2009 - Daniel Antwi-Amoabeng, Brock University
2008 - Crystal Vincent, Carleton University
2007 - Jen Perry, University of Toronto
2006 - Aynsley Thielman, Brock University
2005 - No award
2004 - David Punzalan, University of Toronto
2003 - Melanie Youngs and Tara Stephens, University of Guelph
2002 - Charmaine Condy and Amanda Soutar, University of Toronto
2001 - No award
2000 - Aaron Deans, University of Toronto