ONature
Provincial Partner
Search our website

What we do

Meetings
Field trips
Insect counts
Ontario Insects newsletter
Butterfly atlas
Moth atlas
Contribute Records
Student symposium
Research grant
Publications
Home

About the T.E.A.

Our mission
History
Collecting code
People
Membership

About insects

General info
Insects of Ontario
Books
Endangered species
Gardening for butterflies
Rearing Presentation

Contact us

Links

Insect counts and bioblizes 2017

Counts are a great opportunity to improve your identification skills. If you don't feel your level of expertise is high enough, you can always check with the count organizer. Often you can go along with a more experienced person. I hope you'll join at least one in your neighbourhood.

On some of the counts refreshments or camping facilities may be provided. Don't hesitate to contact the organizers if you have any questions. They would appreciate you letting them know as soon as possible if you will be participating, so they can plan more efficiently.

Dates are subject to change! Please check with the count organizer in advance. Also, at some counts people meet first thing in the morning, and then disperse; at others, people meet at noon; at still others, people meet at dinner.

Everyone is welcome, whatever your skill level. Note that many of these counts are done for the North American Butterfly Association and that there may be a nominal charge for participating. Please be prepared for the count activity with sunscreen, water, hat, food, and other items suggested by the count organizer. This list has been compiled by Carolyn King, Alan Macnaughton and Don Davis.

Two butterfly counts held last year are not being held in 2017: Algonquin Park (East Side) Butterfly Count and Tiny Marsh Butterfly Count. Similarly, the Royal Botanical Garden Odonate Count is not being held this year.

 

2017 BUTTERFLY COUNTS (last updated April 26)

Format of this list is: Date (Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • Wed. June 13, Sault College woodlot, Sault Ste. Marie, Mark Olivier, butterfliesalgoma@yahoo.com (Further butterfly walks at other locations are planned for May 2, 16, 30; June 13, 27; July 11, 25; Aug. 8, 22; Sept. 9.)
  • Mon. June 19, Sandbanks Prov. Park, Yvette Bree, (613) 393-2565, yvette.bree@ontario.ca
  • Sat. June 24 (25). Muskoka Bala, Al Sinclair, (705) 645-2848, sinclair@muskoka.com (meet at 9:30 a.m. at Ragged Rapids Hydro Generating Station parking lot: latitude 45.018764, longitude -79.689492)
  • Sat. June 24 (25), Pinery Provincial Park & N.Lambton (meet at Visitor Centre at 8:30; register ahead so to gain entry to Provincial Park.‬), Brenda Kulon, (519) 869-2833, kulon@cogeco.ca
  • Sat. June 24, Rice Lake Butterfly Count (south of Peterborough), Val Deziel, (705) 868-5374 (daytime), val.deziel@natureconservancy.ca
  • Fri. June 30 (July 2), Lake Dore (near Eganville), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@hughes.net
  • Sat. July 1, TEA Toronto East, Carolyn King, 905-720-2784, cking8000@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 1, Windsor, Paul Pratt, (519) 966-5852, ojibway@citywindsor.ca
  • Sat. July 1, Long Point, Adam Timpf, cell (519) 429-4147, adam.timpf@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 1 (to be confirmed), Awenda Provincial Park (near Penetanguishene), Tim Tully, (705) 549-2231 X 225, awenda@csolve.net
  • Wed. July 5, Hwy 60 Algonquin Park (lat-long 45.5667° & -78.4°), Rick Stronks, (613) 637-2828, rick.stronks@ontario.ca
  • Sun. July 2, Hamilton (9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road), Bill Lamond, (519) 756-9546, bill-lamond@hotmail.com
  • Sun. July 2, Oshawa, James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Sun. July 2, Skunk's Misery (southwest of London, meet at 8:30 at Newbury Hospital parking lot), Ann White, (519) 457-6586, doug.ann.white@rogers.com
  • Wed. July 5 (to be confirmed; contact ahead), Presqu'ile Prov., Park, David Bree, (613) 475-4324 x225, david.bree@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 8, Otter Valley (Port Burwell, on Lake Erie), Joe Stephenson, (519) 874-4028, joestephenson11@mac.com
  • Sat. July 8 (9), Manion Corners (near Ottawa), Jeff Skevington, (613) 720-2862, jhskevington@gmail.com
  • Sat. July 8, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 8, Toronto Centre, John Carley, (416) 766-1330, carley.la@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 8 (9), MacGregor Point Prov. Park (near Port Elgin). Kathleen Chayer, 519-389-6232. fompp@btms.com
  • Sun. July 9, Sunderland (north of Oshawa), James Kamstra, (905) 985-4497, james.kamstra@aecom.com
  • Sun. July 9, Rondeau Prov. Park, Pilar Manorome, (519) 674-1774, Pilar.Manorome@ontario.ca
  • Sat. July 15. Clear Creek (near Long Point). Ann White. 519-457-6586.
  • Sat. July 15 (16), Cambridge (rare Charitable Research Reserve, starting 10 a.m. at rare ECO Centre, 768 Blair Road, to be led by Jenna Quinn jenna.quinn@raresites.org. Register online or call the office at 519-650-9336 ext. 111.
  • Sat. July 15 (16), Petroglyphs Prov. Park (near Peterborough), Jerry Ball, 574 Douglas Ave. Peterborough, ON K9J 4L1, (705) 745-3272
  • Fri. July 21 (23), Hog Island (near Pembroke), Jean Brereton, (613) 625-2263, jbrereton@hughes.net
  • Sat. July 22, Kitchener (Huron Natural Area), 1 pm-4 pm, Josh Shea, (519) 741-3400 ext. 4177, joshua.shea@kitchener.ca, but register with knap@kitchener.ca
  • Sat. July 22 (23), Royal Botanical Garden (Burlington) Butterfly Count. Meet at RBG main centre, 680 Plains Rd W, Burlington. Felicia Radassao (905) 527-1158 x257 (or 1-800-694-4769, same ext.), fradassao@rbg.ca
  • Sat. July 22 (23), Fenelon Falls (north of Lindsay), Dan Bone, 705 887-4691, dan.bone13@gmail.com
  • Wed. July 26 & Thurs. July 27 (tentative), Science North (near Sudbury), Jacquie Bertrand, (705) 522-3701 ext. 280, bertrand@sciencenorth.ca
  • Fri. July 28, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Butterfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or online). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Wed. Aug. 2, Pelee Island Butterfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

 

2017 DRAGONFLY COUNTS (last updated April 26)

Format of this list is: Date(Rain date, if any), Location, Contact, Telephone, Email

  • June - August (multiple dates), Murphys Point Provincial Park (north of Kingston, near Perth), Bev Edwards, (613) 284-1637, bave@sympatico.ca.
  • Sat. July 1, Haliburton Highlands, Ed Poropat, (705) 457-3018, ed.barb@sympatico.ca
  • Sat. July 1, Hamilton Odonata Count, 9 am meet at the church at SW corner of Concession 8 and Kirkwall Road, Brenda Van Ryswyk, (905) 336-1158 ext. 2282 (normal office hours), brendavanryswyk@gmail.com
  • Thurs. July 6, Algonquin Odonate, Peter Mills, (613) 637-2828, peter.b.mills@ontario.ca
  • Thur. July 6, Minesing Wetlands (west of Barrie) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or online at www.conservationvolunteers.ca). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 8 (in conjunction with the butterfly count), Otter Valley (Port Burwell, on Lake Erie), Joe Stephenson, (519) 874-4028, joestephenson11@mac.com
  • Thur. July 27, Carden Alvar (east of Orillia) Dragonfly Count, Brittany Hope, (705) 209-0705, brittany.hope@natureconservancy.ca (please register in advance, either by contacting Brittany or online). Or contact Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com
  • Sat. July 29 (30), Lake Dore (near Pembroke) Odonate, Christian Renault, (613) 717-3142, Meet at the Wilberforce Township Park. (45°38'13.12"N, 77° 04'53.44"W), crenault5@gmail.com
  • Thurs. Aug. 3, Pelee Island Dragonfly Count, Bob Bowles, (705) 325-3149, rbowles@rogers.com

 

2017 Bioblitzes (last updated March 3)

The Friends of Murphys Point Provincial Park (MPPP) has received funding to hold a bioblitz on June 10-11, 2017. The Park is looking for taxon experts/skilled naturalists and is offering free camping to participants, along with food and water. Detailed plans will be developed over the next few weeks. If you are interested in volunteering to help as a taxon expert, lead an event or volunteer in some other way, please contact Tobi Kiesewalter, Sr Natural Heritage Education Leader, tobi.kiesewalter@ontario.ca.

For those of you unfamiliar with the Park, Murphys Point Provincial Park is located on Big Rideau Lake, approximately 20 minutes south of Perth. This "Natural Environment" park lies on the Frontenac Axis, an extension of the Canadian Shield. It is 1244 hectares in size and includes a wide variety of habitats, including woodlands, meadows, several types of wetlands (including bogs), abandoned pits/mines and agricultural lands, small lakes and streams. The terrain is generally quite rugged with some sections accessible only by bushwacking or canoe. The developed part includes 200 campsites including a few electrical sites, three beaches, several hiking trails including the Rideau Trail, a Park Store and an Interpretative Centre.

 

------------------------------------------------

Top